My Tech Chronicles: A documentation of my Transition into Tech.

My Tech Chronicles: A documentation of my Transition into Tech.

ยท

3 min read

I made the decision to begin my adventure of documenting my tech transition today, November 19, 2022.

This is one of the hardest things I have ever had to accomplish because it requires me to step outside of my comfort zone. I had to fight many mental battles before deciding to "Just Start."

I've never been a writer, save from when I used to compose threads on Twitter for NFT projects in an effort to be whitelisted.

Thus, for me, this voyage would be one of those situations where i get learn on the job. If i don't do it this way, i probably would never start this. Doing the Documentation on a regular basis is what really matters right now. Since doing this would provide me a platform to discuss what I am learning, it will also allow me to hold myself responsible for my learning.

A brief overview of who I am.

Uthman here; I'm a medical professional making the switch to being a "Tech Bro".

When I was an undergraduate student at the University of Lagos, I developed an interest in technology, but, like everyone else, I had no idea what specific area of tech to pursue.

You are aware of the typical issue with newbies with an interest in tech. The entire "what aspect of tech will I do" ... You know that there are frontend, backend, and UI/UX components, but you have no notion which one would actually suit you.

I was in that stage for a few months; I wasn't sure which area of tech I wanted to focus on, but I simply knew that I wanted to pursue this tech thing.

In the final quarter of 2021, a new tech school called Alt-school Africa appeared on Twitter. The caveat was that if you paid the N10,000 application fee, took the entrance exam, and scored above 85% on it, you may begin the one-year diploma program. Then you pay them your $500 tuition price once you graduate and land a job.

In a matter of weeks, Alt-school rose to prominence in the African IT industry; it was virtually ubiquitous on Twitter, and many folks were sponsoring people in numbers.

I was also a beneficiary, someone on my timeline randomly asked people who are interested in the program to signify. I signified and entered his dm also. He asked me to start the application and when I get to the part where I get to pay, I should then send the account number to him. He probably felt I was gonna eat the money if he send it to me directly โ€ฆ and I probably would have๐Ÿ˜‚

That was how i paid for Alt-school Africa, i pray God blesses the man for me.

I prepared for the exam, aced it, got 93%, remember I mentioned the cut off being 85% earlier.The exam was pretty chilled, not of the tech stuff, just basic general questions.

Even at this time, I was still undecided about my course of study because Alt-school initially only offered the Frontend, Backend, and Cloud Engineering tracks.

Well, i eventually settled for Cloud Engineering the only reason I chose Cloud Engineering was because I thought it was Unique and abstract. Everyone is actually doing front end and Back end, so let me simply shake my head in the cloud and see how it goes, I thought in my thoughts.

And as of this writing, I have been enrolled in Altschool Africa for seven months and just finished my second semester exam. The hardest part of my brief tech journey thus far was the second semester Exam. Had to deploy a Laravel app on a virtual server using an Ansible playbook.

My upcoming post will discuss the Struggles and Sheges.๐Ÿ˜‚

I've had to learn a lot in a short amount of time, and it still seems like there's still a lot to learn.

See you soon.

ย